April – G’Night. May – G’Morn.

I had a pretty good reading month. Not too many standouts, but no real stinkers either.

Personally, I focused on keeping my routine of eating healthy, getting good rest, and exercising. Oh, and reading as much as I can! The big literary new is that we now have a Little Library in our front yard. I have a post coming up that will detail all the ins and outs of that project.

Here’s Five that I really liked:

img_9751

The Weatherman Vol 1. by Jody LeHeup and Nathan Fox

Mind bending. Mind blowing. And action packed. Car chases. Shoot outs. And full of zany characters. I loved this one!

The art is bright and dynamic, shifting from space to land in the blink of an eye. Time shifts keep you on your toes as background is quickly inserted in many creative ways.

boy and his dog

A Boy and His Dog at the End of the World by C. A. Fletcher

A Boy and His Dog at the End of the World is one of the best books I will read this year. It’s chock-full of intriguing post-world speculation, contains one of the best characters in recent memory, and has a survival-adventure plot that kept me flipping through the pages.

img_0205

Master & Apprentice by Claudia Gray

Highly recommended for any Star Wars fan. This is an incredible work that looks at a place in the timeline not nearly explored enough. The prospect of “filling in the blanks” would be a hard task for any writer, but Gray does it with perfection in this novel.

storm of locusts

Storm of Locusts by Rebecca Roanhorse

All the fun and action of the first book is here in Storm of Locusts. Maggie is one of my favorite characters of late. She’s gained some wisdom and humility, but some things thankfully do not change. My only criticism would be that the villain is not as fleshed out as I may have liked, but that is pretty minor, because the real focus is on the ones he manipulates to bring over to his cause.

Roanhorse leads the readers high on a tight rope of friendship, gods, and tricksters. This is a series not to be missed, and here is a sequel that serves as an ideal advancement of Maggie’s character.

Uncanny_Collateral-eCoverWEB

Uncanny Collateral (Valkyrie Collections Book 1) by Brian McClellan

Overall, I really enjoyed this novella. There’s a good underlying story that will keep this series going, which is exactly what you need to get you to that next mission.

Highly Recommended for fans of The Dresden Files and Grimm. A fact-paced supernatural mystery that leaves great threads of more to come.


Here’s some review to look forward to next month:

 

Have you read any of these titles? What are you looking forward to reading this month?

Happy Reading!

 

6 thoughts on “April – G’Night. May – G’Morn.

Add yours

Leave a Reply to Lashaan Balasingam @ Bookidote Cancel reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: